500 Days of Summer

Posted on August 31, 2009

0


I figured, since I’d alluded to writing reviews on my blog, that I would start by sharing my thoughts on Marc Webb’s “500 Days of Summer.”

This film is very beautiful in a lot of ways.  I’ll warn you, it’s a bit of an emotional rollercoast, at least it was for me.  The relationship between the two main characters, Tom (Joseph Gordon Levitt) and Summer (Zoey Deschanel), hit a very personal chord- as, I’m sure, it will for many people around my age.  Essentially, Tom is a true Romantic at heart- having grown up believing that he would someday find true love in “the one.”  This appears to become a reality when his boss at work hires a new assitant, Summer, who has an antithetical view on love.  After effectively realizing an undeniable chemistry exists between the two, Summer makes it blatantly clear she is not looking for a serious relationship, and while this puts Tom off in some ways, it intrigues him in others.  The relationship matures through a series of experiences (shopping at Ikea *one of the many reasons this film hit home*, looking at buildings downtown, going to the movies, screaming obscene things in the middle of the park, etc) and after about a month’s time the two are sleeping together regularly, and sharing secrets they’ve told no one else.  Tom and Summer’s relationship remains nebulous, and undefined throughout the film, distancing itself from official words like “together” or “boyfriend and girlfriend.”  I’ll admit, parts of this film were a little difficult to watch, but it was very real in a lot of ways and well balanced by comic relief.  I found the two leads relatable, believeable, and very human.  The film certainly has a relevent feel, but seems significantly more timeless than most Romantic Comedies released today.  It also cannot go without mention that “500 Days of Summer” has an amazing soundtrack-  I’ve had Temper Trap’s “Sweet Disposition” on repeat for the last 10 hours.  All in all, I would recommend this movie to most anyone (though I’d warn you to proceed with caution as it might resonate more truly than you expect).

Posted in: Reviews